SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello from Liverpool

Mulberry

Hello everyone from a new member in Liverpool, well Birkenhead to be precise (possibly the worst place in England for astronomy thanks to the clouds that roll in from the Irish sea. I've been attempting to gaze upwards for about 14 months now and, despite frustrations through being sold faulty equipment several times, I am completely hooked. I use a Meade ETX105 (possibly with a still faulty autostar!). Apart from generally chatting to what sounds a very interesting and supportive gathering of folks on here, I would be very interested to know of anyone in the area.

I look forward to speaking to you all!!

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi There Mulberry

Welcome along :clouds2:

There are one or two others with your scope, or other ETX models that will no doubt offer sage advice on your Autostar.

Feel free to ask any questions and we'll do our best to clear those skies for you!!! :clouds2:

Thank you all for your welcomes so far -- what quick responses!

Ian I would be interested to know how your scope in temperamental. I have been able to use mine so infrequently it has been hard to work out exactly what the fault is. I have had a couple of 'proc trap 2' errors which seem to be bad news according to Mike Weasner's website and have had a motor error (which may simply have been caused by a dodgy connection to my power pack). Successful alignment is also a rarity -- although this may be due to poor location/visibility. However, certain faults are A) it spouts code sometimes rather than giving information on an object -- for example it says something like "tebe7=9kdnc dh87yhd" and, perhaps more seriously, it has started to really jolt every ten seconds or so when it is tracking an object. Any thoughts would be much appreciated!