SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

hello

jed

hi all stargazers

My name is Jed, i live in st austell, cornwall and as of posting i am a newbie. i have just bought my first real telescope a meade etx 105 thanks to steve who by looking at this forum i assume you all know(thanks again steve proper job) i've had my scope for 2 nights now both of which were so foggy i was lucky to find outside let alone anywhere else :? so instead i've been looking thru the site which is fantastic with some superb pictures, well done to all involved. i do have a couple of questions as a newbie, i hope this is the right place to ask otherwise i'll post the questions elewhere. first being about the alt/az home postioning for the autostar, the alt i get is horizontal tube 90degs according to the dial on the fork arm but az is a bit vague as it says fully counter clockwise and then back so the fork arm is over the computer controls, can anyone tell me what numerical reading should be on what i presume is the right assention dial ?? also the tripod has a bar for setting my latitude which i've set to about 50degs tilt but does my autostar know that?? lastly does anyone know of any gatherings in this neck of the woods??

thanks to anyone in advance who takes the time to reply and happy new year to all

looking forward to my education

jed :clouds2:

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome Jed - Cornwall! Just down the road - I may try and organise something for the South West later in the year. Keep an eye out in the calander section for meets and Star Party's.

There's a Keilder star party coming up if your interested - a smashing bunch of blokes went on the Welsh Star Party in December. Weather was rubbish but the company - superb. :clouds2:

enjoy the forun and we look forward to your posts.

Greg

PS Follow this link for your ETX, helped me no end when I started.

http://www.weasner.com/etx/menu.html

Hi Jed,

Good to see you found us :thumbright: