Tilted CCD Sensor on my ATIK 383L+

Gib007

I am currently seeking RMA support directly from ATIK as my FLO invoice for the camera states 11th November 2012 and I'm still within warranty. I sent an e-mail off to ATIK yesterday so that time-stamp should be what they consider to be the request for warranty support. This post is just to share my experience. 

After receiving the new telescopes for imaging (see my signature), I spent a few weeks waiting for weather to clear up. This mid-term holiday off school has allowed me to spend a few nights out (I'm a teacher) as the weather coincidentally cleared up nicely. Due to clarity and lack of Moon, I decided to start my massive mosaic of the Orion Constellation in Luminance. Here is a sample raw image from a segment:

BlackStripe1_zpsadc8d7b8.jpg

Notice the black stripe on the bottom. I initially thought this was a hair in the optical train and didn't really think much about it because I expected a flat image to take care of it. Thankfully it didn't seem to attenuate the light coming in as stars were still detected nicely around that region. Anyway, after I returned home I decided to capture a flat to check my optimism:

BlackStripe2_zps2d2907d8.jpg

Unfortunately the black stripe seems to have moved despite keeping the optical train completely the same. In fact, since I was using the Borg 77EDII refractor telescope, being small and lightweight, I kept everything in the focuser when I transported everything home. I took nothing out, not even a filter.