Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Advice about photographing the Aurora

Hey folks. Funnily I posted on the imaging forum page, but no one has responded, so I thought I would revert to the good old general help and advice page instead.

My wife and I are going on an Aurora cruise next February along the Norwegian coast and up into the Artic circle and I am hoping to take lots of pictures while we are up there. There are lots of stop-off where I could set up a tripod, but Aurora permitting I may be setting up on the ship as well as, so I would be looking for advice on a decent, solid tripod where I can attach my camera.

The camera is a Lumix TZ10 digital compact and there are plenty of features on it such as delayed exposure, altering the iso etc, but I am an utter novice at this astrophotography thing, so some hints and tips on what to do would be very welcome.

Thanks alot

Hi Malc,

There are good resources on the web like this http://www.rmg.co.uk/whats-on/exhibitions/astronomy-photographer-of-the-year/how-to-photo-guides/aurora/ but the main thing is to make sure your camera has the necessary settings. I know you mention having delayed exposure but it is long exposure that you need in order to leave the shutter open longer. looking at the specs of your camera it seems to have a starry night mode of 15, 30 and 60 secs so that should be enough,  and has an iso of upto 6400 which is more than enough.

Before you go though lean the features you have on your camera and how to adjust the settings, theres nothing worse than having to learn the camera in the dark and then realising the following day that you could have got better photos if only you had used a different setting. An example is that it took me 4 weeks to realise that my camera only allowed exposures of longer than 30 seconds if I switched to remote control mode ..... but then I had to buy a remote to activate the shutter !

Enjoy your trip,