What aperture scope do I need to get good images?

Venera9

Hi

I am just starting out with astronomy. I am thinking about buying a scope. This is some way off yet so this question is really for discussion. But I'm interested in what kind of images one can get with say a 6" v. an 8" scope. For what it's worth I'm looking at a Celestron Schmidt-Cassegrain NexStar 6" or 8". Obviously I'm aware that there are all sorts of other variables including experience and so on. But I'm just trying to get a general idea of what is possible. I've been looking at some images in the gallery here  - of Jupiter and some deep space objects including a Galaxy - which look pretty good. But there is no scope/camera information with them. Could someone just point me to a few planetary images and a few deep space images and say "this was taken with such and such a scope" and this with "such and such"? That would be a fantastic help.

Thank-you

Venera9

Thanks Steve

That's a very useful site. I found I could search for specific scopes / objects. Based on some preliminary research what I noticed was that even with a 4" aperture people are getting good shots of Jupiter, confirming that skill is a very important factor. On the whole the images of Jupiter taken with a 4" or 6" scope were a little smaller (Jupiter itself) than ones taken with an 8". I guess the more light gathering capability translates into higher resolution images? I looked also at Galaxies - here most of the images were taken with an 8" scope anecdotally suggesting to me that for deep-space astro-photography one needs an 8" scope? (For information I was limiting my searches to the Celestron NexStar range). 

Thanks again,

--Justin 

There is a book called 'Making Every Photon Count' available from First Light Optics, the link to their page can be found in the site header. The book is the best place to start before you make any decision on gear.