30sec_exposures_2021.jpg.48851b1871a4bf9500ebd53c3e790d81.jpg

Hello from Manchester

wigan1895

Hi Folks, from what was a sunny Manchester morning, but as I write the clouds are rolling in from the east. Well I feel a bit of a fraud on this board as a don’t qualify as a stargazer having no knowledge of the sky being more of a walker. But since I do tend to walk in remote parts of the UK and Europe I do get to see a fair number of very dark and clear nights and you can’t help being captivated by the sight.

As for equipment, well, light weight Swarovski Optik 10 x 25 binoculars, some larger Opticron 10x 50 and an Opticron birding scope yes I do admit it, they are all aimed at walking and birding rather then looking at the night sky, but …

Being a novice I often see things in the night sky that I can’t identify, so I thought I would hang around here and read all the advice you good folk are giving, and maybe one day be able to contribute

Kieron

Hi there and welcome to the forums, we have all sorts here so don't feel like you don't fit the mould as it were.

I hope you enjoy your stay and find the site useful and informative, feel free to ask any questions there are alot of knowledgeable people here who can help :clouds2:

Hi There Kieron

As Grant says, don't feel a fraud at all, we welcome everyone with an interest in looking skyward.

You have some nice bino's there and these are perfect for taking a look some constellations and deep sky objects.

Here's a couple of pointers:

Venus - Seen low in the SW horizon during dusk. The brightest thing in the sky showing a fantastic crescent

Pleiades (M45) - Also known as the Seven Sisters. A bright collection of 6/7 stars visible with the naked eye. Bino's will show you many more.

Orion Nebula (M42) - Once the very recognisable constellation of Orion is up, look below the three belt stars for a small 'smudge'. This is the nebula. Bino's should show you some structure of the nebula.