Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Cheapest GoTo option for 127 Mak

Hello there, I'm looking for options for a budget GoTo mount for my 127 Mak. I'm still relatively new to Astro photography so I'm not expecting amazing images. I'd hoped to be further along the astronomy road, although due to an imminent wedding and being flat out at work I just haven't had the time. Last night though me and my oldest daughter went onto the roof for a look at the moon and got a couple of nice shots. So the bug has bitten again.

Opinions on an Celestron 60 LCM  (With the Mak fitted)  http://www.365astronomy.com/celestron-60-lcm-computerised-refractor-telescope-p-2304.html

Or is something like the Skywatcher AZ much better?  http://www.firstlightoptics.com/skywatcher-mounts/skywatcher-az-goto-mount.html

I know for the long term I should be buying EQ5 pro or better, but this ain't happening soon. The 60 LCM I know is cheap as chips, my idea is when I upgrade then the kids will always get use out of it but should I bother at all?

Is there any reason why I can't mount the DSLR to the LCM and lastly, long exposure is a no no, or just not ideal? 

Best regards

PS: Been looking at the Skywatcher allview also

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I dont think the 60 LCM would take the weight of the MAK, the AZ mount would be better.

If you are looking at upgrading at a later date to an EQ then have you thought about buying a second hand AZ mount? Keep an eye out on ebay or Astrobuysell as they pop up every now and again.

I agree.  I think the 60LCM mount would perform very poorly with the 127 Mak on top.

If you want something suitable for long exposure imaging with a camera and lens then I'd be tempted to look at an EQ3-2 with the dual axis motors.  I managed up to four minutes on mine with a 200mm lens.

James

Cheers guys for the replies, yeah, I think your spot on!

Found this via google