SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Telescope Power Advice - save a fortune & buy an eyepiece!

Pliadian

One piece of advice.

Batteries will last a few hours - Dead money.

Ignore all these Astro Powerpacks. IGNORE!

I am an Electrical Engineer of over 25 years. This pays the bills so I can pursue my true passion of Astronomy.

So, you can all save a fortune on these powerpacks.

I am not saying some are good & some are bad.

The fact is, I understand electrons. Always have, always will.

All you need is this:

Buy a £20-£3012v 10-20Ah (Amps per hour) battery off ebay, new.

They are the mobility scooter type batteries.

Then spend £1 on a power connector from Maplin or similar with 2 meters of wire to take 10A. (Anything 1mm or 1.5mm wire is plenty)

Here is an example right now :  http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Mobility-Scooter-Battery-12V-12Ah-Wheelchair-Powerchair-Shoprider-/261228863880?pt=UK_Health_Beauty_Mobility_Disability_Medical_ET&hash=item3cd2742188

12Ah (Amps per hour) is more than enough for any scope. I have a 12" SCT and that only draws 4-5A at anytime. So having 12A on tap is an abundance.

I understand you can pay over £100 for some of these Powerpacks, but under all the plastic and a handy red light. There is a smaller battery than the one above, at 10x the cost.

Products can be about the 'frills' rather than the 'benefits'. IE - The reason you want power.

Save a fortune and it will last forever at a fraction of the cost.

You can even wait for weeks before you get a cheap charger too, the battery will last.

Save the cash and reward your new knowledge with an eyepiece too.

Clear Skies and love to the Altruist. AKA -  Astronomers (Us) x.

Scott.

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

One piece of advice.

Batteries will last a few hours - Dead money.

Ignore all these Astro Powerpacks. IGNORE!

I am an Electrical Engineer of over 25 years. This pays the bills so I can pursue my true passion of Astronomy.