Narrowband

Hey up (Hi) all.

SHARKuk

Hey up all from Yorkshire ...

In short/longish.. I am a total noob to Astronomy, I have already bought a starter scope which is a Celestron AstroMaster 130 EQ. I am currently hooked to viewing the Moon and can be found most nights pining at the window hopeing it's clear :clouds1: .. Being in the middle of the UK however this normally isnt the case, I currently only have the eyepieces which came with the scope which is a 20mm and a 10mm, I have been viewing the moon in sections and looking at as much detail as possible.

My cousin a couple of weeks ago came round with a Meade zoom eyepiece, my jaw was on the floor when I zoomed in and could see the lines radiating out from the impact craters. HOOKED ...

I am now looking to buy myself a new eyepiece(s) and filter(s) to bring out as much detial in the Moon as possible, I will of course be reading this site like a man possesed over the next few weeks but any hints or tips for getting the best views of the Moon with the above scope would be greatfully accepted.

At the moment I will be leeching your knowledge and experiance but hopefully one day hope to be giving some out ..

Thank you all for reading and sharing all your knowledge :icon_salut:

Daz ..

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Daz,

Welcome to SGL. Think the next investment should be a copy of 'Turn Left at Orion'. The starter astronomers bible....finding stuff in the sky, plus a section especially about the different phases of the moon, and what to see. its great when you can actualy start putting a name to a location. Another great tool is the online Moon atlas....just do a search.

Good luck and clear skies...tonights meant to be goodish here in the south ;-)

Hi Daz,