Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_android_vs_ios_winners.thumb.jpg.803608cf7eedd5cfb31eedc3e3f357e9.jpg

Sandancer10

eq5 pro skyscan

Hi I'm a newbie and I have just ordered Skywatcher Explorer 150pds with eq5 pro mount. Can anyone tell me the best place to get the power source and whether I need a power pack or mains leads; most of what I view will be from next to my house. Also I am quite excited by the AP pics I've seen that are possible with this setup. I have a canon dslr 600D and can't wait to photograph the heavens. I will probably be on here a lot asking loads of questions.

I have a Baader mains lead for my (£30) as well as a SW 17Ah power tank.  Not sure why they don't supply the mains lead with the synscan, except to make you buy one separately. If you can plug into your house mains, that's better, but there may come a time when you want to move away from the safety of your garden. I thought the garden good for me too, but then I realised that the park behind my house offered more sky, so I picked up the power tank.

• Like 1

Hi and welcome to the lounge

looks like you got your answer, good luck with

the new scope, and I'm sure you will enjoy imaging

with your set up.

All the best and Clear Sky's

• Like 1

Thanks for your welcome and I'm happy to get the mains lead suggested.  I was a bit worried about plugging into the mains supply, but would prefer it if I can. After I joined Skygazers Lounge last night and saw the deep sky photo's so couldn't sleep. Up a 3 and wouldn't you know Jupiter was right up there along with Orion - I wished I had my scope.