SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Heads up - Watec 120n on astrobuysell for £150!

michaelmorris

No really much more to say! The Watec 120n+ (I don't know whether or not the advertiser has accidentally missed off the +) used to sell for >£500 until they recently stopped making it. If this is in good nick and it is the same camera, this sound as if it could be a real bargain.

I noticed the Watec as well tonight, I'm new to VA so I may be wrong but it looks like it is a 120n as the advertiser mentions 5 second shutter speed and on the Modern Astronomy website the info for the 120+ says it can expose up to 10 seconds. I've only managed a first light (more info to follow when I have the time) with my Minitron camera this week which was great and was showing detail in galaxies with only 2 and half second integration (max for the Minitron) and I'm already wondering how much better 5 or 10 seconds would be!! So it still looks like a good deal to me...... which I must resist! :grin:

Congratulations, I don't know enough about the cameras to know exactly what the difference between the 120n and 120n+ but looking at the spec here it looks like you've got a good deal either way. :smiley:

I did also find this page which has tables for both camera's maybe someone with more experience will be able to advise you better what the difference is after looking at the page.

Congratulations, I don't know enough about the cameras to know exactly what the difference between the 120n and 120n+ but looking at the spec here it looks like you've got a good deal either way. :smiley:

I did also find this page which has tables for both camera's maybe someone with more experience will be able to advise you better what the difference is after looking at the page.