Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Skywatcher Heritage 130p secondary mirror mount - help?!

Hi,

I'm just getting started and have bought a Skywatcher Heritage 130p - it seems to offer a good way to start for not too much money, it fits in the limited space I have to store it and it's easy to take somewhere dark (not my back garden unfortunately :embarrassed: ).

Having tried it out I was pretty dissapointed, the image is more magnified but much less clear or bright than my old binoculars. Having read the manual section on collimation (yes, I really did read the manual!) I decided just to check if it looked OK, and found that it does not at all - I can see only about 1/3 of the primary mirror in the secondary. On closer inspection the secondary mirror holder is way off centre (by about 1cm); the single arm holding it is way off perpendicular to the ring it screws into (don't know the proper name for this bit I'm afraid!).

I've contacted the online shop I got it from and am awaiting a reply - they're reputable so I'm not expecting any trouble. But I'd appreciate some advice.

In every other respect this scope is perfect for me, but this way of mounting the mirror looks like a design weekness to me. If it were a 3 or 4 spoke spider this wouldn't happen and would be fixable if it did. So if I get it replaced but at some point in the future it gets knocked out of alignment, the way it's designed it won't be correctible and the scope will then be useless? Am I wrong - can it be readjusted? I am assuming the secondary mirror mounting arm screws straight into a fixed thread so has no adjustment capability apart from a small amount along the arm axis? Where the spider mounts to the outside ring there is a lock nut, which I have not undone; but if I did would I find I could correct the angle to perpendicular so the mirror would be in the right place - is there something cleverer behind the lock nut than a fixed thread?