Narrowband

EQ6 Dec axis stiff

nitram100

Hey guys,

I was out with my scope last night observing with the EQ6 manually with the DEC and RA clamps loosened, just star hopping really.

This morning I noticed that the DEC axis has all of a sudden become quite stiff. Before with the DEC axis clamp loosened I could give the scope a little nudge and it would swing loosely, but now I have to give it a real push. The best way I can describe it is that it feels like the DEC clamp is moderately tightened even thought it is completely loosened.

Any ideas what I could try? Has something tightened last night as a result of me manually operating the mount?

Thanks for any info!

Martin

edit. Just want to add that it feels stiff even with the counterweights and scope removed. There is also a sound coming from the DEC axis when being moved, almost like a mild friction sound.

I was hoping that wasn't the case, I'm not very technically minded :)

It's really strange how it went from being able to nudge it and it would swing freely to how stiff it is now. I can put the tube at a 90 degree angle with the clamps loosened fully and it won't budge, really weird.

Ahh poop, looks like I will have to strip it down then. Which grease did you use mate? I ordered this stuff http://www.ebay.co.u...984.m1439.l2649

yup thats the one i used :D great stuff it is! theres a small access point when you open the mount up for you get a bit of grease on the motors i put a small dab on them aswell becasue you can only access the motors by taking the main board out of the mount a real pain! let me know if you need any help if you get stuck

Thanks for the help, Daniel. Can I ask though, when you stripped the mount down did you see clearly where the problem lay? Like a lack of grease in a particular place or too much?

I would say all of those - grease where you want it but not enough, and grease caked in where you don't need it.

See AstroBaby's site and regrease with lithium grease...