Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Saturn - Back in Time Using a Barlow Trick

Michael_E

Hi Everyone

Here is my image of Saturn from 2nd June 2013 using my Nexstar 6SE and SPC900 webcam.

Now I know I am posting this a little late, but due to health reasons, i was not well enough to process the image until now.

I am new to this hobby so learning all the time, but I did a little experiment which I am sure everyone knows, but incase you dont, here is what I found. I have a 2x Barlow. The lens unscrews at the bottom and gave me an idea to make the magnification greater without buying extra equipment. What I did was screw the lens onto the front of my star diagonal, and then place the barlow tube on the other end, to increase the distance between the two.

And hay presto I managed to get a bigger image. I don't think it is quite 3x but maybe somewhere between 2.5x and 3x zoom. Not exactly sure how I can work it out.

I found the image was very dim. Below shows 1 frame from the AVI I took. Poor quality isn't it.

VideoImageBeforeStacking.jpg

My webcam (SPC900) was open on full exposure.

After running the 5 minute AVI @10fps through Registax 6, used 75% of best images and used the wavelets in there.

I managed to produce an image below which I was very happy with.

SaturnOrientatedColourCroppedJunecentre3x02_06_201323_28_16.jpg

I have pictured below an example of an image taken with a 2x barlow a week earlier and an image using my Barlow Trick. Works well I think. :smiley:

BarlowTrickExample.jpg

Thank you for looking. :icon_cool:

When using my SPC900 I used to use a 2.5x Revelation barlow with a Skywatcher kit barlow from which I had removed the lenses in the back of the Revelation barlow to achieve the same effect. I don't use the diagonal when imaging.

James

Wow! Massive difference...brilliant!

Thanks Emadmoussa