Stars_Banner.jpg.843f9de1cf2bdcd4b91ede4312ecf0ca.jpg

A complete novice at astrophotography

Hi all,

I am sure this might have been asked before, but I have just joined today and both a newbish to astrophotography astronomy.

I am looking intro and want to get involved into astrophotography. I do live in a light polluted area and do not have that much room for large kit. Currently I have a skywatcher 130p goto mount,

I would like some advice as I am interested in photography too, currently I am looking at the cannon eos 60d, I do not want to get it modified as ill be using it as general dslr. Will this be a good camera for astrophotography? I am not sure if my current mount will take the weight. I will be upgrading to a goto eq6 mount later.

Also not having a pc, I use an iPhone and iPad, can I use an iPhone adapter to the mount as a replacement for a pc and web cam? Is there apps for stacking on iPhones or iPads? Just in case the skywatcher 130p cannot take the weight of canon eos 60d being attached.

would it possible to just to attach the cannon eos 60d to a dove tail adapter and just attach to the mount, not sure if that option may work.

many thanks

dave

Hi all,

I am sure this might have been asked before, but I have just joined today and both a newbish to astrophotography astronomy.

I am looking intro and want to get involved into astrophotography. I do live in a light polluted area and do not have that much room for large kit. Currently I have a skywatcher 130p goto mount,

I would like some advice as I am interested in photography too, currently I am looking at the cannon eos 60d, I do not want to get it modified as ill be using it as general dslr. Will this be a good camera for astrophotography? I am not sure if my current mount will take the weight. I will be upgrading to a goto eq6 mount later.