Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Revelation 20x80 collimation advice needed.

Tim64

H all

I purchased a pair of Revelation 20x80 bins second hand that are as new but need collimating.

Anyone know if these bins can be collimated by the user and if they can where are the adjustment screws?

Also what is the ideal hight of a tripod for these bins as most seem to go to a hight of 5ft aprox and I imagine we need taller than that for Astro use.will i ned some sort of extender? Any advice is welcome as I am new to big binocular use.

Regards

Tim.

Hi Tim. This http://www.cloudynights.com/item.php?item_id=416 may help perhaps.

If your bins are similar to the link, then there are 4 collimation screws, 2 each barrel, under the rubber, as pics.

Please go carefully, it's easy to make things worse than they are. If it were me, I'd make a diagram, numbering each screw, and note each adjustment as you make them. For example, No 1 screw, + 1/2 would mean half a turn inwards (clockwise) on that screw. If you proceed like that, you can retrace your steps, back to where you started.

Good luck, Ed.

Thanks Ed, I hope the screws are under the rubber covers, will be easy job if they are.Thanks for the link and the advice as its exactly what I needed to know.i will update this thread soon I hope, maybe a pic or 2 as well of work done. :-)

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 4

I will draw the positions of the screws before o move them so I know where to put them back if needed.I now have the binos here, delivered this morning and they look brand new.i can see the optical train looks good and the amout they need adjusting is real small.i had a peek under the rubber covers and bingo., one screw each side at the top and it looks to me like someone has had a go at the left side as the screw has a little paint loss.i will check further before adjusting though.will get back to soon.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 4