SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Solar imaging with a PST.

The_PSY3NTIST

Hi everyone.

I'm new to solar observing/imaging and was wondering if anyone could offer a few tips :) I have a PST and a celestron neximage and the best I can come up is the attached images. Where am I going wrong? I intend on getting the same sensor that is in the dmk21 b&w fitted into my neximage eventually but was hoping to get better images with this first. Can you get full disk with a 1/4" sensor and what it the best method for focusing. Could anyone recommend any good setting to set off with for surface detail and also prominences. Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

thank you :)

post-5622-0-41226900-1375214057_thumb.jp

post-5622-0-17216000-1375214092_thumb.jp

An excellent start :) unfortunately I have no experience with your camera but to get both surface and proms together you need to raise the gamma level, but not too great as you will get noise in stacking. It is a fine balance between exposure and gamma (don't touch the gain - the lowest is best). It certainly is possible and I personally prefer this type of imaging as I like a more natural looking Sun.

Alexandra

Thank you for the reply. Good pointers to start from. I've had the sliders all over so that explains some of where I've been going wrong. As for the full disk, how do I get it all in? When I connect the CCD directly to the pst I only get about 2/3 of the sun. It's all probably simple and silly question but I'm not used to this imaging lark :)

I don't think your Neximage will have enough FoV for a full disc in one go, so the way to go is a mosaic, you will get better detail and more uniform image in any case. Try a four panel mosaic for starters. Then try a Barlow and a 8 or 12 panel mosaic.

To stitch the images together try Microsoft ICE or Autostitch, both work quite well.