Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Good, beginner astrophotography telescope?

Hi all,

I apologize if this is in the wrong section of the forum, but I am new to the site so I'm not exactly sure where this belongs.

I am looking into getting a telescope for astrophotography. I have been into photography for quite some time, and I've been doing various astrophotography with my DSLR for a couple of years now. There have been several occasions where I've been out all night shooting auroras, or the milky way, or just whatever I could get with my DSLR. I'm now looking to take it to the "next level" with a telescope.

My interest is in DSOs (galaxies, nebula). I do have an interest in planets as well, but not to the extent that I do with DSOs. I've never owned a telescope before, so I've been researching them for the past several weeks trying to learn everything I can... but there's a lot to take in!! I've been referring to this forum quite a bit and trying to research people's thoughts on various telescopes... it has been very helpful thus far!

My budget for the scope and mount is in the $600 range... one scope that has caught my eye has been the Celestron Omni XLT 150 (http://www.adorama.c...CFUJlMgodhFIA6g). On Adorama, it goes for about $480, and I can get the tracking motor mount for about $100, fitting perfectly into my budget. The 6" scope seems large enough to capture some of the faint objects in the galaxy... and from what I've read, the mount itself is fairly good for astrophotography. I know I'll need a T-Ring and T-Adapter to hook up my camera, but those seem fairly cheap and aren't too much of a concern.