Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Canon 1100D + SW150P EQ3-2 with RA motor

Hi, I'm new to astronomy and have been using my SW150P since March (as much as the british weather allows :)) and have quite impressed myself that I can actually see all kinds of objects from my garden (into the small hours). Now i'm becoming interested to see if I can take some half decent images through my setup. The best option for me is the Canon 1100D DSLR as I could also use it for normal/family photography (also helps justify the spend to the wife :)). Has anyone else used this setup? I'm not yet going to go down the guidescope route(yet) and intend to just polar align and rely on the mounts clock drive for tracking. I'd be interested if anyone has any tips or has any photos to share that used this setup? Attached here is a nightscape I took at the end of may of the Mercury/Venus/Jupiter conjunction using my Samsung compact on a tripod. Also what would be the best lenses to do nightscapes and piggybacking? post-31009-0-91911200-1373451813_thumb.j

I don't know if you will have focus issues using a DSLR with the 150P, but I'm sure someone here has tried it. It is also asking a bit much of the EQ3 to handle the weight of a scope and camera, but I know that some people have been successful.

You can get some nice results mounting the camera directly on your EQ mount and using both the stock 18-55 lens and a longer zoom lens. See here for my experiences with a Sigma 70-300mm APO http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/189203-imaging-with-a-70-300mm-zoom-lens/. All you need is a short bit of dovetail and a tripod screw to mount it, or you could buy a fancy L-bracket. I also find a red dot finder useful as targeting with the camera is difficult. I took a hacksaw and a file to a cheap red dot finder so it fits in the camera flash hotshoe, but I'm sure you can buy the bits from Ebay to do a more professional job.