Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbie needs some help

Jim

I'm pretty new to Astronomy, I've finally got the gear I need. I've been unable to do anything for a year and a half due to ill health. But now I'm better and want to get going again.

Last night I set up my Skywatcher MAK150PRO and Nexstar SLT mount, and get it aligned using the 3 star method and set about doing the "tour" feature of the night sky last night for the first time.

Now I haven't been into Astronomy for long, and probably should have done this over the winter/spring, (but couldn't) as now the Sky doesn't get that dark, especially where I live, near Watford in Herts.

I was pretty disappointed as I really couldn't see much, the only thing that looked good was the coat-hanger cluster and Vega...I am wondering if I will ever get good views from where I live? There is so much light pollution, houses and trees blocking the horizons....and most of the Messier Objects were too low on the horizon to view.

Sadly there aren't any Astronomy clubs in the area so I cant get any advice on where is good to view from as my garden is far from Ideal! I really want to see some Messier objects...Maybe I should get one of these light pollution filters?

Whilst I was ill I bought an Altair Astro F4 8" Newtonian and a HEQ5 with the intention to get into imaging when I was better, but now feel a bit disheartened and wonder if that purchase was a mistake.

I guess I'm writing this as I really need some encouragement and tips for summer viewing!

Cheers,

Jim.

Difficult to answer. This game either grows on you or goes from you. There are plenty of summer targets that are achievable from town.

Start off with something easy

http://www.skymaps.com/

This book details targets season by season

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=turn+left+at+orion&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&hl=en&client=safari