Narrowband

t-ring adapter on .965 - 1.25" adapter dslr focusing?

I'd first like to apologize for the repost, I just recently found this forum and I believe this would be a better place for the post.

I just purchased a Meade 4504 and so far observing has been pretty great. However, I have a Nikon D5200, and would love to use it for astrophotography. The issue I've run into is that the 4504 uses .965. I know that I could modify it for 1.25 by upgrading the focuser. This is a little more modification than I want to do at the moment though. I have seen .965 - 1.25" adapters for sale. Has anyone tried using a .965 - 1.25" adapter and a t-ring adapter for imaging? I feel like I have seen somewhere that it is possible, but focusing was a real pain. Any ideas?

Sorry again for the repost, I'm just a newbie.

Hi Texwarhawk,

I followed a couple Yahoo threads about this telescope with exactly this question and it seems there is no easy answer, the focal point is too close to the limit of travel of the focuser to allow a normal DSLR to reach focus.

The most tried option was to move the primary mirror further up the tube by fitting longer springs and spacers behind the mirror but although this moved the focal point further out from the focuser it introduces cut off and vignetting in the camera image because the focuser draw tube is so narrow.

The only really successful results with DSLR users were achieved by people who both moved the mirror as described and changed the focuser for a low-profile large bore crayford type but this is rather an expensive upgrade for this telescope.

All is not lost though, there are a couple of suggestions that might work but I have not tried them myself on this telescope so I hope other SGL members may confirm them, or suggest better alternatives.