Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Comet 8P/Tuttle

I am a virtual beginner but I believe I can see comet Tuttle tonight!! :icon_jokercolor: I have a Leica APO 77mm birding scope.

I dont really know how to tell you exactly where but its in Cephus and Stellarium gives the coordinates of nearby star as as RA 23h24m10s and +77deg 6' 46''....this star is the bottom left of 4 roughly equally dim stars and its slap bang in the middle of the square. Not as far east as Errai (3 cep)

Somebody please confirm I am so excited!!! It's a fantastically clear night here in rural Norfolk.

Dave

Slightly better instructions than my previous post!

I am a virtual beginner but I believe I can see comet Tuttle tonight!! I have a Leica APO 77mm birding scope.

I dont really know how to tell you exactly where but its in Cephus and Stellarium gives the coordinates of nearby star as as RA 23h24m10s and +77deg 6' 46''....this star is the bottom left of 4 roughly equally dim stars that form a square and its slap bang in the middle of the square. Not as far east as Errai (3 cep)

Somebody please confirm I am so excited!!! It's a fantastically clear night here in rural Norfolk.

Dave

I saw Tuttle last night with the 80ST... it looked like a large, unresolved globular cluster. Even though I live out in the country under dark skies, I couldn't detect the comet at 12x (32mm ep), so I kicked the magnification up to 20x (20mm ep). There was Tuttle, nestled in a triangle of stars, exactly where my Sky Tools program said it would be. :icon_jokercolor: (Sketch done with 32mm ep and 2.8x Barlow.)

With any amount of light pollution I might not have been able to see it at all. Larger aperture would have helped, but I didn't feel like setting up the 8" SCT because it was 7°F out there. :shock: