SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello everyone

rawhead

My name is Jon and I live in North Norfolk, UK. I’m a computer programmer (Back end stuff on the AS400) I’m happily married with two young uns..

I bought my Tal 2M about 3 years ago. On a tight budget, I researched my choice of scope with diligent fervour over many weeks I was dreaming telescopes. I then went and bought the wrong one. :( It’s very heavy and quite impractical. After a few weeks of lumping it about, gave up and put it back in its box. I’ve only ever looked at the moon. (All the ‘good’ planets conveniently disappeared for the year)

I have just bought a new camera (Nikon D40) and took some un-magnified pics of the Moon and Mars. Found the comet in my bins and also found my enthusiasm. :D Two weeks ago I rebuilt the scope and am waiting for a clear night to point it at Mars…

Last time out I struggled to find anything at all, didn’t get it colominated or even manage a polar alignment… Hopefully I will have better luck this time. I’m more realistic about obtaining Hubble like images that are scattered all over the web.

My first target is some decent pics of the moon. I have just got to work out how to couple the camera to the scope without spending too much cash. I will hopefully stick with it this time and get to know you all better. Cheers.

JB

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome Jon.

You'll find the folks here have enough enthusiasm for all of us :(

Tal (from what I've heard) are very nice scopes!

Assuming that the tal has a 2" focuser I suspect that you'll need the following to attached the camera to the scope.

One of these £17

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/proddetail.php?prod=ae2inchadapter

and one of these £13

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/proddetail.php?prod=tadaptor

So it shouldn't break the bank.

Good Luck.

Ant

Thanks for the welcomes and encouragement. Looks like i didn't really give my scope a proper chance...

Welcome Jon.