Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Celestron NexStar 6SE - a beginner struggles....

Hello!  Another newbie here with some telescope related questions.  It's entirely possible that these have been answered elsewhere on the site, but given that we're on holiday in the wilds of deepest Cornwall, with no wi-fi, and an iPad that's clinging on to the last scraps of a 3G signal (I'm standing outside waving it about in order to post this), I'm hoping you'll forgive me if I just plough on and ask my dumb questions.

A bit of background.

Yes, we should have done a pile of research before going ahead and spending our hard earned cash, but after two years of talking about buying something, my wife and I had a moment of madness, took a trip to a Telescope shop in Dorking (not sure if it's the done thing to name names or not, but a) I'm sure most people can figure out where it is, and B) I've got nothing but praise for them anyway) and after a long chat, came out having ordered a Celestron NexStar 6SE.

It duly arrived a couple of weeks later, we unpacked it, we stared at it uncomprehendingly and packed it away again.

We watched a few 'setup' videos on Youtube and then a few days after that, packed it in the car to go on holiday to Cornwall, where we knew dark skies awaited.

Which is where we are now.

We'd figure it out in two weeks?  Right?  Hmmm.