SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Philips SPC 900 webcam yesyes LX modified help please

rachelf

I have recently purchased this premodified webcam. I am new to astroimaging. It is working in normal mode ok, capturing images with sharpcap. However when I tried to use LX mode, Sharpcap came up with an error message " LX configuration is incorrect" at the preview screen.

Please can any one help?

Thank you

rachel

Hi

My guess would be you need to correctly set your com port in the LX configuration of sharpcap, The com port number can be found in , Device manager. hope this helps..

I am new to the SPC900 LX mode myself, I also have a Yes Yes style SPC900 and have been stunned at what you can see image with it..

see here:-

and here:-

• 3 weeks later...

Thank you very much for your help. The problem is now solved......

there were actually 2 problems, and I will describe them in case it helps others.

1. As you alluded to the com port settings needed to be altered in sharp cap ( your fix was very helpful).

2. When in device manager checking the com port, the serial to USB port for the webcam had an error message (code 10) stating it was not working ( Ilhave windows 8). I found a useful fix online , the link is below and I think that I am now all up and running...

.http://leftbraintinkering.blogspot.co.uk/2013/05/usb-to-serial-prolific-2303-device.htm

this link describes how to get windows 8 compatability for the chipset.

I am now hoping for some clear skies so that I start imaging.

Thanks for the links to your images, it is good to see what the camera is capable of.

• 3 months later...

OK on that solution, but I run Windows 8 and my SPC900 mod is for the USB single connection, as my laptop has no serial or parallel ports and they are not listed in the laptop's device manager.

I too get the same message and the LX doesn't work.

Does anyone know what the solution is without any ports listed, please?