SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Red Dot Finder vs Finderscope - which is best?

I'm fairly new to finding my way round the skies, and I'm having some problems. Without my glasses, my eyesight isn't brilliant. My telescope isn't a great one (present from my well-meaning wife - bless her) and it came with a basic red dot finder. I'm finding that when I look through the red dot finder I'm just not seeing things which I can see with my glasses on or with binos, so it's hard to find the intermediate steps to the target.

So I'm wondering if it would be better to buy a finderscope. The red dot finder I have gives no magnification (I'm assuming that's standard?) but with a 9x50 right-angle finderscope I'm thinking that I'd have a better view of the patch of sky I'm searching to put the telescope in the right place, and it would correct my vision enough to find what I'm looking for. Does that make sense? It wouldn't be money wasted, because when I upgrade to a better scope I can move the finderscope.

The scope is a Jessop's special - focal length 900, aperture 114, which makes it an F8 by my calculation.

Alan

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I use both. A red dot finder to get the right bit of the sky and then the finder to get the target in the field of view of the telescope. There is no best as they have different strong/weak points.

Plus another for using both.

A red dot finder to get the right bit of the sky and then a correct image finder to get the target in the field of view of the telescope.

Also if I am using GOTO I can get a better idea of where the target is in my light polluted skies - sometimes getting a wide angle bino (8.2 degrees) on the job as well!!