Stars_Banner.jpg.843f9de1cf2bdcd4b91ede4312ecf0ca.jpg

Still frustratingly unsure of my scope purchase

I'm so sorry to keep repeating posts and being a nuisance but i'm terrified of making a mistake.

I have around £4800 to spend on a scope which is amost certainly 99% for visual observing.

I have narrowed it down to the

1) Celestron CGEM 1100 (though i have heard that polar aligning and balancing can be a pain in the butt)

2) Celestron CPC 1100 HD Edge

3) Meade LX600 10"

Would love a large consensus of opinion from forum members as these scopes are gonna be available towards the end of July by all accounts.

Thanks,

Matt

PS Not too worried on weight as i'm 6' 3" and quite strong and it may well be permanently housed in a year or so due to a move anyway.

Matt

With that budget it's understandable you want to make the right purchase. I'm not experienced enough to give an opinion but there's certainly many on here who are. Have patience, they will soon be along to give you some sound advice. e

Hi Matt , remember that what is right for somebody else is not necessarily going to be the right choice for you . If you can , try to visit a few outlets and local Clubs to get your hands on the equipment and get a good feel for what you do like and what you don't.

Even though you say 99% visual , i bet you soon get the itch to try AP . Either way i think you're going to have a lot of fun choosing plus sprout the odd grey hair !!

Happy shopping :grin:

Rob.

As said above it I had that much to spend, probably best to go to a club and test out a few. Other than that I would say, don't feel obliged to spend it all at once. You could buy something good for much less than that, and then perhaps upgrade a little bit later on.

if you look after the equipment easy enough to sell it on as well.