Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Bins for astronomy and nature watching ?

cpper

Hello :)

I like stargazing and animal watching so I decided to buy a pair of binoculars for both of my hobbies.

I know that the astronomy bins are different of the nature ones.

I studied a lot about bird watching/nature/astronomy bins,and my conclusion is that I need bright ,porro bins with:

* ~7mm exit pupil,meaning:

* 8x-10x power (fixed zoom),

* 56mm-70mm front lens size(for low light conditions);

* BAK-4 prisms;

* Multicoated or fullymulticoated lens;

* Wide FOV.

Am I right ?

I don't need waterproof, and the size and weight don't matter(I'm used to big,heavy lens). I found the Nikon Action VII 10x50 but I think they are to dim for astronomy,altough they have a large FOV...

My budget is 150$/118 euro, I know that good bins are more expensive,but I can't afford them.

Can someone give me an advice ?

And one more thing,is it such a big difference bewtween 8x and 10x magnification ? And how is the magnification calculated ? By dividing the distance to an object by 8 times , for example , or by dividing the distance 8 times by 2 ?

Thanks in advance :)

Hello cpper and welcome to SGL.

A few weeks ago I did an exchange with another member on this site via the 'classifeds' and got a pair of Revalation "ASTRO" 20x80 binoculars. They are BIG! I would also recommend you get a sturdy Manfrotto/Bogen or maybe Benbo tripod too if you don't already have one. There are of course other brands too that you may know of that I don't.

The binoculars are 'staight' (ie don't have angled eyepieces) so for observing things at the the zenith/overhead maybe a minor issue and there are accessories that can make viewing easier without playing the game Twister at the same time.