Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Total newbie trying to pick a telescope for my wife, need advice

Hi All,

I am a total newbie trying to pick a telescope for my wife, I have looked around and am pretty well 100% confused.

She does not want a manual telescope, she just wants a point click motorized one

We live in the country near Bedford in the UK, not too much light pollution

We would not be moving around with the telescope it would always be at home

Budget ... tricky one, up to say £600 - £700 ish, can go higher but not much

Also what kind of things could you see with a telescope like this, eg could you see the rings around Saturn ?

Any help really appreciated - am kind of lost out here :smiley:

Many Thanks

Dave

Having a manual dob I can't comment from personal experience of a GoTo but if had the budget I would buy this:

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-skyliner-200p-flextube-goto.html

This presumes that you / wife just want to view things visually, if you want to be able to take photo's of DSO (rather than just moon and bigger planets) you will need a different mount. Someone who knows about that will be along and cover soon I'm sure.

You would defo see the rings around Saturn, cassini division, Jupiters Great Red Spot , polar ice caps on Mars with this on a decent seeing day.

Saturns rings arent a problem for most telescopes at all :)

Im not up to advising people on new scope yet, but is imaging something she may be interested in at all? That makes abit of a difference on choice of scope.

Aslong as you buy from a reputable dealer (for example SGL's sponser First Light Optics or Telescope House) they should be able to give you some very sound advice aswell, although Im quite sure someone will be along here soon and recommended several things you could look at that will fit the bill.