Banner.jpg.692da9ed9af2eace53e1dc94cfc0e912.jpg

Eyepiece glare vs seeing

I am new to astronomy and was wondering if there is a relationship between eyepiece(telescope?) glare and seeing conditions?I noticed that at times the glare seen was very bright and "washed" out detail on the planets.I attributed this at first on the eyepieces used(Celestron Luminos),but as I have aquired different ones...TV Delos,3-6 Nagler zoom they all at times have a significant amount of glare.Does moisture in the air cause more glare?I noticed this effect when it was very cold out,-25C,but still happens now that it is warmer.By the way,the 10mm Luminos@63x is my goto eyepiece,very sharp,excellent clarity,etc.In moments of good seeing all my eyepieces offer incredible views,just wondering if anyone else noticed glare vs atmospheric conditions?

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm not sure what you mean by "glare". It's possible it's an illusion caused by bad seeing. It's also possible it's related to humidity: the glare may originate in condensation on the outer surface of the eyepiece.

By glare I mean bright area(big) surrounding the planet,most notably Jupiter,in darkness.I have started viewing Jupiter at sundown with greater success,seems a little bit of light in the sky helps?In the cold weather I leave my scope(and eyepieces) outside for about 45min to cool off.There is no frost or condensation on any lenses-unless I mess up and breath on the eyepiece!Also the effect isn't always there or bad,but when its bad its BAD.Maybe atmospheric dust does something to-not sure

Sounds like haze/thin high cloud in the atmosphere to me. This is a visual/emotional nuisance but normally means the 'seeing' (stability of the air) is better so you get better detail on planets.

What RikM said.