Banner.jpg.692da9ed9af2eace53e1dc94cfc0e912.jpg

Hello

comeonborouk

Hi,

I have just got into the telescoping bug, always been in awe of the stars and astro photography, Im on a restricted budget and got a Celestron AstroMaster 70AZ scope, im sure is a complete beginners scope :)

I have found the moon! :p I have also found Saturn.

Ok, my problems, point and click camera's are a pain, I point into the scope and I dont get what my eye see's. I am stood for a substantial period of time, moving the scope, pointing the camera, moving the camera all over, getting the picture only to find the picture has moved, reapeat ;) Its all very frustrating, tho' I did get a very small picture of Saturn and I was very happy with my first picture of the moon :)

To my point :) Saturn was about the size of a pin's head on my scope, I'm a little bogged down with all the technicalities on scopes, I know my scope is a beginners one, I want to be realistic, will I get bigger views of Saturn on it? If so, how, do I buy a barlow lens x2? As things are quite expensive for me and its a new hobby I dont want to be throwing my money away ;)

Also, Len's, I read a forum post saying AstroMaster's are rubbish, is it just the Len's or are the scopes also frowned upon? If its just the len's (which Im hoping it is) then what "budget" lens are recommended?

Hello to you all again, and thank you in advance for any wisdom shared with a complete beginner :)

• Like 1

Welcome to SGL