2052839955_Mobilephonebanner.jpg.a502a319d7033354d442937f2edd0c2c.jpg

Noob help please! My brain is about to explode!

Hi All

Ok that may have been a little over dramatic but jheeezz I didn't realise it would be this complicated!

My wife and I are very keen to get ourselves our first telescope but I am finding myself getting more and more confused as to which is the best way to go. I'm very keen on a reflector telescope and I don't have a huge budget. I have seen a few telescopes and I was hoping that you guys would be able to assist me with some advice. Please bear in mind that we are both complete noobs when it comes to stargazing.

My wife found the Celestron LCM 114 online for very cheap but i am a little concerned that it may be just a "supermarket telescope" which you guys seem to avoid like the plague! Saying that it does have the starfinder which will make life easier for somebody new to astronomy? When i say new to astronomy I've always had a interest in it and i can pick out a few of the easy constallations Orion, Big Dipper but i've never owned a telescope.

I have found the following.

Skywatcher Explorer 130 (EQ-2)

Skywatcher Explorer 130P (EQ-2)

Skywatcher Explorer 130M (EQ-2)

I'm not too sure of the differences to be honest? The motorised one seems logical to keep track of an object once found (if I understand it correctly).

Skywatcher Skyhawk 1145P

Seems like a very good budget telescope and I would have some extra cash for some new EP (see I'm picking up the lingo already!) Not that I would know what to get yet!

Or if I can find a little more money this seems like a good buy.

Skywatcher Explorer 130P SupaTrak AUTO

I think the first main targets for both of us will be the planets and branching out to nebulae/galaxies soon after. Is there one of the telescopes above that will do a reasonable job of both?

I'll thank you in advance for your replies and apologise in advance for any stupid questions! :grin: