Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

My very first image,M51(big thanks to QuaterMass!)

Oily

Well here it is,my very first DSO image,M51.Also it's my very first time using Photoshop CS6,what a minefield of options,lol

Any pointers gratefully received :thumbup:

M51PS_zps7804d79c.jpg

Got to say a big thanks to Mark(Quartermass)for all his help,info,advice,his blog and utube photoshop videos,cheers mate,you've been really helpfull :)

Images captured using BackYardEOS

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Great image - any idea why you have the brighter patch?

Urmmm,not sure,think it happened when i tried to 'gradient' the picture,I wanted to use Gradient Exterminator but it doesn't work in CS6 :( so ended up 'adding a little noise'(info I got off the web)

Thanks for the comment :)

Its a great start mate, but it looks like it is stretched a bit far on this screen, but that might be this lappy.Gaz

Cheers Gary,if i have 'stretched' it then it was done accidentally,lol

Wow Oily that looks great. :cool2:

There is no stopping you now. Look forward to more images from you.

Thanks Michael,really looking forward to do doing some more :)

Nice one Olly that's a great shot and this was one of my favorites as well. You asked about dark and flats ect I normally stuck to 80 of every thing main shots darks flats and bias shots and it gave me good results. Its cool watching somebody pick up where I left off your going to really enjoy photographing all those wonderful night sky treasures. The biggest learning curve was the processing of your data but my set of tutorials on my utube channel cover most of it if you need any more help just cask away. :D

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

lol, I mean you noght have pushed the curves a bit far, the core is burnt out, as I said though, it might be this lappy screen. Gaz

More technical lingo to learn,lol