Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Different eps or Barlow?

I have had a look honest, so please don't berate me if this has been done a thousand times before!!!

I have a well collimated 200p with standard eps 10 &25 mm. Now these to a complete novice are good to get seeing. I would however like a little more detail on planets (can see jupiter and vague bands but not much else) and certainly a better view of clusters DSO's etc (caveat to that is living in city and LP is a problem)

So I have been looking at better and more powerful ep (8-9mm) but was wondering if I would just be better getting a half decent Barlow and effectively have 4 ep out of the 2 I already have?

Any thoughts greatly appreciated

Cheers

:kiss:

Erm... I would actually suggest both! A decent Barlow is of course a good way to extend your EP collection, but the kit eyepieces aren't the best in the first place. I bought a few Celestron Omni's after my kit ones and although they are by no means the finest glass around, they were a massive improvement. I see more detail with less powerful ep's, just through the quality. I personally would recommend upgrading, though others of course may think differently!

Posted via Tapatalk on an ageing iPhone so please excuse any erroneous spellings or accidental profanities!

A barlow is a cheap solution, and it can get you started for a modest outlay. A single EP is better, unless you get a premium "Barlow" like the TV PowerMates or the Meade TeleXtenders (not true barlows).

Given the quality (or lack of) of most 10mm EPs shipped with scopes, I suspect you will be better off with a better EP. Which one is very much a matter of budget

I think you need a new eyepiece too. The kit eyepieces that came with the scope are quite poor by modern standard. BST Explorer is a good budget upgrade. Vixen NPL plossl is another low cost upgrade.

Most barlow will degrade the image. A bad eyepiece with a balow will still give you bad results.