Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_solar_25.thumb.jpg.f1d5d01d306644f613efd90ef96b314c.jpg

kona

Hello from birmingham

Hello to all

Have decided that another thing i must do in my life is to observe the sky's as a occasional hobby.

Living in a city with high light pollution will mean some driving and a telescope easy to transport.

Will be reading up on what to to do as a complete novice to this.

What i have managed to note down so far is not to spend to much or to little on a first telescope.

Sky watcher seem a good first buy!! and may buy a second hand motorized setup to start with the 130p seems a good first telescope.

Then buy better once i have more understanding of the skies above.

Will of course be asking questions but i expect all i have to ask is already here to be found.

• Like 1

Hi and welcome to the lounge,

there is always help and advice, just ask.

Good Luck

• Like 1

Hi Kona & a warm welcome to SGL...

• Like 1

Hi and welcome to the forum. It is understandable to want to rein in the budget when starting out in case your expectations aren't met. However in the absence of a known budget I would suggest the following considerations.