SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Binoculars advice needed

Hi

Newbie here looking for advice.

I am thinking about buying a pair of binoculars for learning the night sky, I have recently bought a SW Explorer 150PL telescope and had the idea of using the scope at home during the week and as we go to our caravan most w/ends, taking the scope with us. ( great skies when clear - low light pollution)

Last w/end I took the scope ( it was a squeeze in the car but it fit ) with a wife, 2 kids and a dog in the car I think I am being alittle naive thinking it will traval with us every week.

Possible solution ......... binoculars ........ I did read before buying the scope that they are the perfect tool to learn the night sky.

Could any of you good folk on here recommend a good cheap pair (bearing in mind I just spent most of my funds on the scope) maybe around the £50 mark.

Any comments/recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

George

Don't think you'll get much for £50.00 George, unless you go second hand. Alternatively you will be limited to something like Skymaster 15x70 binos (about £55.00). Difficult to hold steady for too long without a tripod, and people have reported problems with collimation. Alternatively wait until Aldi or Lidl get their 10x50 bargains back in the stores. These are normally really good value for fairly reasonable Bak4 prisms and multi-coated binos. Good luck.

Phil

The lidl ones have gone downhill apparently, they're in stores now and people are pretty disappointed with them this time round.

Your best bet is either second hand from astrobuysell, or take a look at your local car boot, where you can pick up some oldies for £10 or so. Failing that, FLO have a few around that price. While an experienced eye might spot problems with cheaper pairs, as a beginner, a cheapish binocular is 100x better than none at all.