Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Finally: my first (stacked) image of Jupiter with XBOX camera

Rihard

Hi all,

just wanted to share my first stacked Jupiter pic. It's nothing special, but I'm happy enough as it is my first attempt at Jupiter with a webcam. Outside is very windy (especially on the roof) and cloudy, but I managed to capture some wobbly frames of Jupiter between the clouds :p

It was also the first time I was able to do some rough polar alignment and successfully track an object, and the first light for my new Vixen eyepieces and my new Antares 3X Barlow lens.

The preview on Sharpcap didn't show any color, even though the Saturation was about 70. I tried to increase it but the image was only showing artifacts rather then colors, so I ended up with monochrome captures :) any suggestion?

Telescope: Skywatcher Explorer 200P

Mount: Eq5 + Dual Axis Motor

Barlow: Antares 3X

Camera: XBOX Live Vision Cam

Software: Sharpcap + Registax 6 on Windows XP (Virtual Machine on MacBook Pro) and Adobe Lightroom for OS X

Jupiter (click to enlarge)

post-17725-0-07914000-1364945070_thumb.j

And my rooftop:

post-17725-0-70288500-1364945194_thumb.j

I have captured several AVI's so I hope come back with better pics.

Clear Skies

Riky

It can take a while of messing around to start getting good results. This first Jupiter image below was one of my first efforts. It's an ancient webcam, around 15 years old, using x2 Barlow and 1.5 Drizzle, taken 18-09-12. The inset image is one frame from the AVI video prior to stacking showing a reasonable image on its own as it was a still night.

jupiter1.jpg

This is my most recent Jupiter, taken March 30th this year. The colour is slightly off, but taken using the same scope, barlow and camera. Conditions on the night make a big difference, as does practicing with the processing. I was told not to shoot for more than 90 seconds, due to Jupiters fast rotation which would blurr longer exposures.

jupiter16.jpg