SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

collimation help in darkest Wales

Is there anyone out there that lives anywhere near Welshpool, Powys. No matter how hard I try I can't seem to get my secondary mirror central in the focus tube. I've followed Astro baby,s guide to the letter with no joy. Just wondering if someone could meet up with me to show me where I'm going wrong. Long shot I know. Fingers crossed. Clear skies. Al

I am not an expert, but I do have the same scope and noticed an old thread somewhere reporting similar issues.

I'm not sure if the goal of centring the secondary is valid for this (fast) scope. Certainly I notice that the reflection of the focus tube on mine indicates that it is not completely central. The whole of the primary is however visible. It's not helped by the spider being a single plastic moulding with very limited scope for rotating the secondary.

I skipped the primary alignment part on mine, and did what I could using a film canister and some aluminum tape as a reflector. Not yet sure if this has helped or not, waiting for drier weather...

I have an F4 and likewise, centering the secondary is awkward. However, it's so large I don't think it's an issue. I go near Welshpool pretty often (grew up in Manafon near Berriew), so next time I'm passing? Should be there over Easter?

From your words, I assume you are stuck at the early stage of tying to get a "circle in a cirlce"?

I do this in 2 stages

1. Aim to get the secondary in the middle of the focuser by using the center screw (tighten pulls in up & loosen to push down the tube), do not worry about the shape of the secondary, just aim to get it in the center.