SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Guide camera that plays nicely with Mac OSX?

Hi Folks

Have recently joined this forum, and am about to invest in a new mount for my 8" SCT (probably a SW AZ-EQ6GT).

I've never tried guided AP before, but very interested in having a go. My laptop however is a Mac and, from my research so far, most of the affordable guide cameras seem to need Windows.

Apologies for what maybe a dumb newbie question, but if anybody could advise me on the best choice of a reasonably affordable guide camera that would work happily with OSX 10.6.8, probably using PHD, I would be very grateful!

Any comments welcomed.

Many thanks.

Cheers

Simon

Hi welcome to the forum.

I have a Starlight Xpress CoStar that I got to run on the Mac.. Well under Snow Leopard anyway. http://www.firstligh...autoguider.html

Bit pricey compared to the commonly used QHY5 ( I also have one) but the SX Cameras do seem to run on the Macs.

That's good to know. Many thanks for the suggestion - much appreciated.

Cheers

Simon

Guiding at long FL is not easy and, with an SCT, is probably best done with an OAG so a sensitive guide camera is important. We run a Lodestar in Nebulosity on a Mac here. The setup isn't mine but I have to say that I'm beginning to warm to it...

Olly

Guiding at long FL is not easy and, with an SCT, is probably best done with an OAG so a sensitive guide camera is important. We run a Lodestar in Nebulosity on a Mac here. The setup isn't mine but I have to say that I'm beginning to warm to it...

Olly

Appreciate your advice Olly - many thanks.

I've recently acquired a .63 FR, which should hopefully reduce the FL issue a tad, but I realise it's still going to be quite a challenge!

Thanks again.

Simon