SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Upgrading Eyepieces for 200p

Russty

Hi all,

Having recently bought a 200p I was wondering what thoughts people had on upgrading eyepieces as I am a relative beginner to astronomy. I bought a Revelation Eyepiece kit for my MAK 127 last year and this will do fine for the time being until my bank balance recovers and I get a bit more familiar with the scope, but where do I go from there? I quite like the idea of 2" EPs so is it worth saving up and investing in Tele Vues or similar or would that be overkill for the 200p, I used a quote before, like putting a Ferrari Dino V12 in a 2CV (no offence meant to 2CV owners) no point in spending a large amount of money when I wont see any benefits because of the limitations of the scope.

So any suggestions would be gratefully received.

Oh and while we are on the subject I also bought an Antares 2X Barlow for the MAK, so any thoughts on upgrading that would also be appreciated.

Cheers Russ..................

The 200P is a fast scope, so getting good quality EPs helps quite a bit. They need not be TV, as other manufacturers produce some first-class kit, nowadays. Something like a 30mm ultra-wide angle should give excellent views. This could be the redoubtable Nagler 31T5 (a.k.a. Panzerfaust or Terminagler), but the Explore Scientific 30 82 deg has a very good press, as have the 28mm Nirvana (same as William Optics, apparently), and the 30mm Meade UWA.

I personally think the 30mm ultra wide EP is better suited to 12"+ that have longer focal lengths.

In the 1200mm focal lengths (the 200p and 250px) I'd recommend the 24mm ultra wides. These then give the same 50x that a 30mm ultra wide gives in the 12" + reflectors.

30mm or rather 40x, in my opinion, is a little too low to get good detail whereas the 24mm @ 50x is much improved and will give slightly darker sky in the view.