Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

buying a scope and mount

borderfin

Hi,

I'm a new member and a beginner. I'm looking at mainly lunar and planetary, with a little bit of deep sky. I'm thinking of buying a second hand Skymax 180 Pro OTA and a Celestron CG5 go to mount or a Celestron C6 tube with go to 6 SE mount.

Can anyone advise what might be the best scope and mount to buy. As a beginner I need a really simple to operate go to.

Thanks,

borderfin

Hiya and welcome :laugh:

There are plenty of options to choose from, you could try to meet with a local astronomy group and check their setups out and see what suits you best.

You cant get much easier than the Celestron SE GOTO series ,the scopes also give crisp viewing.

Hope this helps :smiley:

Shaun

Hi Borderfin and welcome to SGL, I should try holding back on buying a scope till you have done a little more research, however, one with the largest aperture, that is within your budget, should receive most consideration, along with stability and ease of operation :)

John.

Hi and welcome to the forum. I agree with Shaun above regarding going along to a couple of public observing events to actually look through some of this kit to see which size and type of scope best meets your expectations. It also a useful way of seeing the size of the setup and to ascertain the setup and cool down times and how portable the kit is should you need to travel to a dark site or if based at home, to set up it up each time. More importantly, it will help you establish your own datum point of what all the specifications and technical jargon mean at the eyepiece which will most certainly help any further research you do in finding the right scope for you. Lastly, by going along to these events, you will very quickly appreciate the benefits of different eyepieces that are out there and their effect on the final view which, in certain instances, can be quite pronounced.