SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

New to astronomy

shaun01

Hello everyone i'm new to star gazing I have a pair of binoculars but when im looking up at the stars I don't know what I am looking at as they all look the same to me can anyone help me please as it is starting to get a bit frustrating and I really do enjoy looking up at them but it would be better if I only knew what I was looking at please can anybody help me

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Shaun, there are plenty of star guides you can buy, you can also get a planispere off amazon for about £6 that will help you. There are plenty of apps that are free for your smartphone or tablet. If funds are short you can look on you tube and just google " night sky using binoculars" hope this will get you up and running , kev

Hi, shaun01, and welcome to SGL! I would recommend downloading 'Stellarium' - a free planetarium that can easily be configured for your own location and will show what is in the night sky at any given time. As Khw said, a planisphere is another simple guide - usually a laminated card. By setting the date and time this will show the main constellations and will help you find your way around.

There is a dedicated section for binocular users on this site, and I am sure if you posted there you would get plenty of help from more experienced users.

Martin

Hi Shaun welcome to the lounge, Stellarium is very good, it has helped me, I too am a newbie with bins and this site is

superb if you need help, I subscribe to Sky at Night magazine you learn a lot and every month there is a guide to help

at what is visible in the night sky, but remember there is a lot to learn, but it's fun.

Good luck