SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hi from Farnborough!

DoodleDragon

Hi there,

I'm completely new to this. I've always been a bit of a stargazer and fascinated by the planets but have no clue what I'm looking at. My eldest (he's 6) has been sci fi obsessed since seeing David Tennant departing Doctor Who when he was 3 and is naturally taking an interest in astronomy now. I have been informed that he intends to be an "astrominer" when he's older.

So he's saving for his first telescope (the cheap cack that he got from father christmas does not count) and I am browsing to try and learn more about what the hell we do with it.

Please be prepared for some really thick questions.... :)

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi DoodleDragon and welcome to SGL, nice to have your Son involved, perhaps if you give us some idea what you generally want to observe may have some bearing on what you eventually end up with. There are some decent basic set ups, but there are also some that should be avoided. Let us know what you are interested in then perhaps the members can make some well informed observations, before you dip your hand in your pocket :)

John.

glowjet I've already made myself at home in your equipment forum and have had a lot of help so far. impressed by the warm welcome, thanks everyone. will be a while yet before he has his pennies saved up enough but at least now I know what to aim for!