Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

New telescope wanted. Any advice??

Hi,

I'm a newbie to this forum, found it on Google and i'm hoping someone can help!

I currently have a cheap telescope, I can see the moon in great detail, saturn (a blur with rings), mars (a red blur) and jupiter (another blur!)

I'm looking at upgrading my equipment. I've been googling and decided I want a big one but thats as far as I've got. There's far too much choice and too many mixed reviews! I've found a skywatcher skyliner 250px (not flex tube) that i quite like the look of, i've read good reviews too. I know alot about space, im glued to documentaries and I have an app which tells me where things are in the sky. I often struggle aiming thanks to being practically blind in one eye but the "GOTO" device seems to add ALOT of money on making these scopes out of my price range?! Any reviews or advice on this scope or any substitution thoughts would be welcome!

By getting a bigger telescope of this sort of size are the planets much bigger or are they still a blur? I'm also interested in looking into deep space. I'd quite like to attach my camera to it too, I have a Lumix G10, does anyone know if I can connect it?

Sorry for all the questions!

Lisa x

I'm also a newbie, but I understand that for 'proper' photography Dobsonian telescopes (like the Skyliner) are regarded as less than ideal. Even if you can track the object with the Goto, the image will rotate - making long exposures blurry, and stacking harder. At least, that's what I've read, and it makes sense.

What type of finder are you using to aim with at the moment? The Skyliner 250px comes with a finder scope, and I think you're supposed to look through them with one eye? (They're like a low power scope you use to aim the main scope with.) I think that'd be cheaper option than a GOTO drive.