Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

3 Inch Reflector

Limbo

Hi all,

I'm new to all this and I have recently got a new telescope a 3 inch reflector and have been looking at the moon, Jupiter and it's moons and also beatleguse (if that's how it's spelt lol) I know to see more I will need a bigger scope but whilst I'm saving is there any other objects I might be able to see with it

Thanks in advance :-)

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

A 3" scope can show quite a few sights beyond what you have already seen. Many of the Messier objects are visible with a 3" scope. For preference, use a low magnification (except for a handful of objects like M57). Just point your scope at the little threesome of stars below Orion's belt, and you will see M42 (and M43). The Pleiades (M45) are great in such a scope. the book "Turn Left at Orion" is a great guide.

Despite having a bigger scope, I still use binoculars (15x70 mainly) which have a slightly smaller aperture than your scope. A bigger scope will show more (we all want one, that's called aperture fever), but even a modest scope can show a lot.

Thanks for your time in replying you've give me abit of hope now, after searching on the net alot people seem to just write 3" scopes off and just say get a bigger one, I will do in the future but basically want to live with what I have for now while saving, just need a clear night now

Thanks again!

Thanks for your time in replying you've give me abit of hope now, after searching on the net alot people seem to just write 3" scopes off and just say get a bigger one, I will do in the future but basically want to live with what I have for now while saving, just need a clear night now

Thanks again!

I forgot to mention I also do a lot of observing with my 80mm refractor. That is not much bigger than your 3". It has given some great views of wide-field objects like the North America nebula