Narrowband

stuck in an observing rut....

Meddle

Hello,

I'm relatively new at this wonderful hobby & I'm loving every second of it, I've also found my previous fondness of clouds declining rapidly, but that's another story! When I do manage to get some time in on the scope my routine is as follows:

Excitedly set up the scope, Orion Nebula, andromeda, Jupiter, Moon, Orion Nebula, andromeda, Jupiter, Moon, Orion Nebula, andromeda, Jupiter, Moon - well you get the idea!

So...I was wondering what you would suggest I try to find next, say a top 10 of your favourite objects.

(I have an 8inch dobsonian & Mostly observe in rural (ish) essex)

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

best thing to do is have targeted sessions :

double stars in a constellation

Lunar 100

galaxies in a cluster

open clusters in a constellation

I use Sky and telescope pocket atlas and Cambridge double star atlas - both excellent

I agree about a telrad, makes funding so much easier.

I have the two volume Sanner and Kepple night sky observer's guide. http://www.willbell.com/handbook/nitesky.htm

It is overkill for an 8 inch (it's overkill for any aperture!!) but it's a lovely book with a dated charm and I enjoy it for its own sake as well as for planning.

Or there are more modest guides to the sky. Turn Left at Orion. This one by David Levy, who's usually very good; http://www.amazon.com/David-Levys-Guide-Night-Sky/dp/0521797535

Plus a good paper atlas like SkyAtlas2000 by Wil Tirion.

Olly

I agree about a telrad, makes funding so much easier.

If only that were true, I'd have several :)

Many people start off by working their way through the Messier catalogue. I think that's a good place to start because they are perhaps the easier targets and allow you to get some experience before potentially moving on to harder targets.

There's also a monthly guide posted to SGL of possible targets and events for the coming month.

James