Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Total Beginner Advice on the Messier Catalogue

blueroom

Hello, I'm a total newbie at this but I quite like the idea of scanning the skies for the Messier objects.

I've downloaded a handy PDF Messier catalogue but was just wondering do I need a special filter to see them? Or should I buy a filter to block out light pollution as I live in town and there's usually a yellowish glow in the sky.

Thanks.

Hello, I'm a total newbie at this but I quite like the idea of scanning the skies for the Messier objects.

I've downloaded a handy PDF Messier catalogue but was just wondering do I need a special filter to see them? Or should I buy a filter to block out light pollution as I live in town and there's usually a yellowish glow in the sky.

Thanks.

I'm practically in the middle of a city with the same scope - I wouldn't worry about an LP filter just yet. Best to start with the brighter Messiers first, and then steadily work your way down.

I live in a very light polluted area (I've posted a pic of what I have to cope with elsewhere so I won't do it again here!) and still managed to see 9 Messier objects and 5 Caldwell (NB: the Caldwell objects were all found on the same night) without the use of a filter. I know that this provably doesn't sound like a lot, but I've only been trying since the middle of November, and we've not exactly had the weather on our side since before Christmas!

I would say that a lot of DSO observing does depend upon a lot of different conditions, not just light pollution. There are other factors to take into account. Atmospheric conditions are equally important, as are the use of various 'tricks' to help your vision - like getting your eyes fully adjusted to the dark, using averted vision etc.

I would also suggest trying to find a local, safe dark site nearby to you. Whilst it is more convenient to observe from your garden etc, for the really faint DSOs, a dark site would be very advantageous.