Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Using heaters in tents - effect on seeing?

I go to a star party for both the social side and for imaging/observing. I am a veteran of nine star parties and have SGL8 coming up in a couple of weeks. In the last few years I have notice a significant rise in the use of heaters in tents at star parties. I used one myself twice last year.

However, I do have concerns that the use of heaters in tents could cause signficant deteriation of the seeing, particularly when viewing/imaging targets near the horizon. I haven't personally experienced any problems surrounding this issue, but I was wondering what other peoples' experience was.

I guess its going to happen as people like their comforts :)

But then again if you wanted the best seeing conditions you wouldnt be in a Campsite with 150 other people (how much heat is given off there ?)

As always life is a compromise........

Actually im sure one of the challenges could be working out the amount of energy "vented" at SGL8 :eek: :eek:

Include all the powerpacks , kettles , peoples bodyheat , dew heaters etc etc

kinda makes me glad that i will be at home on me lonesome :grin:

Heated blankets would be a better idea, I'd have thought, both in terms of effectiveness and in terms of the seeing.

Olly

Olly, that is a rather good suggestion, a tent will warm up nicely, but the moment you turn of the heat, it will cool just as quick, but an electric blanket will do a good job of keeping a sleeping person warm