SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

EQ5 stripdown, clean, re-grease and re-assemble

Jiggy 67

Right, Saturday is the date I've set to carry out the above using AB's guide I am not an engineer or anything like that. My question is, has anyone tried this and how easy/difficult did you find it?? I'm nervous about doing it but my mount needs it desperately, and seeing as I can't find a retailer anywhere that can do it....its down to me....any advice?? :eek: :eek:

I've done the CG5-ASGT which is a later version than the one shown in that guide and I've taken everything apart even the bearings themselves , CG5 and EQ5 are similar as far as I recall

It isn't hard provided you follow the guide and use a bit of common sense if you see opportunities - that guide misses a trick on the RA axis, Dec axis is the easy one

On the ASGT it is a bit trickier since the RA motor housing has a circuit board that will only fit back in when in a certain orientation - tip if you are not certain take your time and take some close up photographs

Tip 2, make a note of what has grease on it and what doesn't, you will need to know this when putting things back together (make sure you don't lose any of the teflon shims that may be hiding in the grease) - the orange flavoured grease cleaner for bike chains they sell in Halfords etc is great for cleaning the sticky grease off

Tip 3, be careful when screwing and unscrewing, the mount metal is like soft cheese and you can strip or break something if you over tension something (not trying to frighten you :grin: )

Once you've done it once it's easy - good way to understand how these things work