SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Focusing Issue with Skywatcher Skymax 127

Hi, I hope someone is able to help this complete novice.

I got a Skywatcher Skymax 127 telescope for christmas (very lucky me) and last night was the first clear night, so out we went.

I set up the telescope as per the instructions, both me and the telescope waited in the dark for half an hour, for the telescope to get used to the cold and me to get used to the darkness. Although this is a tracking telescope, I used it in manual and using the finder pointed the scope at Orion. With the naked eye the belt was clearly visible and although I have never seen them, I know there are lots of stars in the belt.

Through the telescope I could see nothing, but black fuzz. Tried focusing, nothing.

Then I put on the moon filter and pointed my scope at the moon. I could get white fuzz.

So I took it in and put in the back bedroom. This morning, I pointed the scope at a set of trees about 2 miles away on the other side of a valley. They are on the horizon and can be clearly seen with the naked eye to be oak trees. Nothing obscuring them and no clouds. Nothing through the scope, the finder showed plenty of detail.

The best I have got is a fuzzy brown line of a branch of a tree in next doors garden. I am hoping to use the scope for taking wild life shots with my Nikon D90! :sad:

At one time I got a lovely view of something small and round, then I blew the speck of dust off the front of the scope, it had then gone!

Am I doing something wrong, or are the reflectors miss aligned? Before I contact the supplier I would like to know.

My backgarden has no light pollution, although I need glasses to correct an astigmatism in my right eye, I have good vision in my left, needing only a light reading prescription. So I don't think it could be my lens!

Thank you for your help.

Claire

Hey Claire